one thing huge has occurred in sport when everybody’s consulting the rulebook.
That was the case on Sunday night time as cricket followers had been left surprised by Michael Neser’s aerial antics – and the choice of the umpires on the Gabba – within the Brisbane Warmth’s win over the Sydney Sixers.
It was late within the Sixers’ chase of an enormous whole when Jordan Silk despatched the ball careening in the direction of the boundary, the place Neser was positioned deep.
Watch BBL12. Each sport stay and ad-break free throughout play on Kayo. New to Kayo? Begin your free trial now >
He first made contact with the ball in play, throwing it up within the air to attempt to save the wicket and never concede a six.
However he needed to step out of bounds, and was a number of metres outdoors of the boundary when he jumped within the air and once more made contact with the ball – however critically threw it into the air once more earlier than making contact with the bottom.
He then ran again in-bounds and accomplished the catch, leaving the Sixers certain it was a six and Neser certain it was a wicket. A assessment proved Neser was right.
It was the second time the Warmth had used the rule, 19.4.2 beneath the MCC Legal guidelines of Cricket, in recent times.
“The ball in play is to be thought to be being grounded past the boundary if
– a fielder, grounded past the boundary as in 19.5, touches the ball;
– a fielder, after catching the ball throughout the boundary, turns into grounded past the boundary whereas in touch with the ball, earlier than finishing the catch.”
Neser was not thought of grounded past the boundary (regardless of making contact with the ball having jumped from past the boundary) as a result of his first contact with the ball was in play.
“He wasn’t touching the ball when he touched the ball outdoors. I imply, jeez,” Adam Gilchrist stated on Fox Cricket.
Mark Howard replied: “So that you inform me you may simply proceed to juggle it by way of your complete boundary, do three laps?”
The choice, whereas right by the letter of the legislation, left cricket followers surprised.
“I knew (Matt) Renshaw did it a few years in the past. I didn’t know in the event that they’d modified the principles and fortunately they didn’t change the principles,” Neser stated.
Initially printed as ‘Most silly rule in any sport, ever’: Cricket world floored as Neser’s aerial antics produce wicket