Home Sport Australia topped Rugby League World Cup champions

Australia topped Rugby League World Cup champions

Australia topped Rugby League World Cup champions


Australia has lifted the Rugby League World trophy after claiming a cushty 32-10 victory over Samoa on Sunday morning (AEDT).

The Kangaroos acquired off to a flyer as Latrell Mitchell, James Tedesco and Liam Martin all crossed for tries within the first half.

Watch Australia v Samoa within the Rugby League World Cup Closing this Sunday. Plus atone for all of the motion with Kayo Minis. New to Kayo? Begin your free trial now >

“Robust, highly effective, unstoppable, Latrell Mitchell has his second at Outdated Trafford,” Fox League commentator Andrew Voss stated after Mitchell barged his method over.

There was a second of concern early within the second half when Angus Crichton knocked out Samoan playmaker Chanel Harris-Tavita chilly with a stray elbow when the ball was lifeless after Australia knocked it on.

Harris-Tavita was clearly concussed and was dominated out for the remainder of the sport whereas Crichton was despatched to the sin bin.

However even one man down for 10 minutes, Australia managed to attain one other attempt when Nathan Cleary put Cameron Murray by a gap for a textbook attempt.

Samoa’s Penrith Panthers stars labored their magic to avoid wasting face with two second half comfort tries.

Brian To’o scored within the nook to place Samoa on the board earlier than Stephen Crichton plucked a Ben Hunt move out of nowhere and ran away with a superb intercept attempt.

But it surely was too little too late. Tedesco and Mitchell each scored a second attempt every to ice the sport.

Tedesco, the Kangaroos captain, was named participant of the match.

The loss ruined hopes of a fairytale end for Samoa, who had been searching for to make World Cup historical past and had even been wished good luck by the Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson.

The Pacific island nation has already reached a brand new milestone, changing into the primary staff outdoors of that trio to make a World Cup ultimate since France in 1968.

It’s the thirteenth time in 16 editions of the World Cup that Australia has lifted the trophy because the Kangaroos keep their stranglehold on international rugby league.

It capped a dominant day for Australian rugby league after the Jillaroos thrashed New Zealand 54-4 to win the ladies’s World Cup.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here